Physics

Theoretical physics is the discipline that aims at describing how the world works in terms of fundamental equations. The goal is to abstract explicit phenomena by reducing them to underlying principles that are responsible for many different manifestations in nature. Physical processes are often the basis for other natural sciences, e.g. quantum mechanics is important to understand atoms and therefore chemistry. Establishing knowledge about the microscopic dynamics is crucial to understand macroscopic emergent phenomena. Theoretical physicists at FIAS are working on complex models on very different scales from the elementary particles in the universe via the nano-meso scales of protein structures to huge objects like neutron stars.  

Strongly Interacting Matter

The properties of strongly interacting matter under extreme conditions, governed by the theory of Quantum Chromo Dynamics (QCD), are still largely unknown. At high temperatures - accessible in heavy ion collisions - QCD predicts a phase transition from ordinary matter to the Quark-Gluon-Plasma, where the elementary constituents become unconfined. Other interesting new phases of strongly interacting matter, e.g. color superconductivity, at high densities and low temperatures might be realized in the interior of compact stars.

At FIAS, theoretical physicists focus on understanding the properties of strongly interacting matter using a broad range of methods and tools:

  • Calculations of the equation of state and the phase diagram with effective models based on hadronic and partonic degrees of freedom, e.g. different versions of the relativistic mean field model, chiral models with Polyakov loop and dilaton field, resonance gas model
  • Dynamical modeling of the complex many-body dynamics of heavy-ion collisions, using methods from classical and quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, transport theory, quantum field theory, and gravity duality. The employed models include Relativistic Hydrodynamics, transport codes (e.g. Parton-Hadron String Dynamics PHSD) and Quantum Molecular Dynamics (e.g. Ultrarelativistic Quantum Molecular Dynamics UrQMD)
  • Studies on the structure of exotic nuclei away from the band of stability including hypernuclei and antinuclei by solving the corresponding many-body problems. Binding energy and excitation spectra of these nuclei help understand the syntheses of heavy atoms in stellar explosions.
  • Investigations of the interaction of ions with matter by advanced numerical simulations (GEANT4), especially relevant to heavy ion cancer therapy.

Interdisciplinary collaboration especially with computer scientists is essential for state-of-the-art research in theoretical physics. Theorists at FIAS closely collaborate with their experimental colleagues working at major accelerator centers like GSI (Darmstadt), CERN-LHC (Geneva), BNL-RHIC (Brookhaven) and are closely involved in the preparations for the future FAIR experiments within the program HIC for FAIR.


Copyright © 2004 - 2017 Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies

All Rights Reserved.

Physik

Theoretische Physik ist die Disziplin, die darauf hinarbeitet, die Welt durch fundamentale Gleichungen zu beschreiben. Das Ziel ist es, Beobachtungen zu abstrahieren und auf grundlegende Prinzipien zurückzuführen, die viele verschiedene Auswirkungen in der Natur haben können. Physikalische Prozesse sind häufig die Basis für andere Naturwissenschaften, so ist die Quantenmechanik wichtig, um Atome und dadurch auch die Chemie zu verstehen. Um makroskopische Phänomene verstehen zu können, ist es unerlässlich, Wissen über die mikroskopische Dynamik zu etablieren. Theoretische Physiker am FIAS arbeiten mit komplexen Modellen auf sehr verschiedenen Skalen, von Elementarteilchen über die Nano-Meso-Skala von Proteinen bis hin zu riesigen Objekten wie Neutronensternen.

Stark Wechselwirkende Materie

Die Eigenschaften von stark wechselwirkender Materien unter extremen Bedingungen, die der Theorie der Quantenchromodynamik (QCD) unterliegen, sind größtenteils unbekannt. Bei hohen Temperaturen – die man in Schwerionenkollisionen erreichen kann — sagt die QCD einen Phasenübergang von normaler Materie zum Quark-Gluon-Plasma voraus, wo die elementaren Bestandteile nicht mehr in kleinen Gruppen zusammengeschlossen sind (der sogenannte Farbeinschluss wird aufgehoben). Andere interessante neue Phasen der stark wechselwirkenden Materie, zum Beispiel Farbsupraleitung, könnten in den hohen Dichten und niedrigen Temperaturen im Innern eines kompakten Sterns (Neutronen- oder Quarkstern) realisiert sein.

Am FIAS arbeiten theoretische Physiker daran, die Eigenschaften stark wechselwirkender Materie mit Hilfe einer großen Auswahl an Methoden und Werkzeugen zu verstehen:

  • Rechnungen der Zustandsgleichung und des Phasendiagramms werden mit effektiven Modellen durchgeführt, die auf hadronischen und partonischen Freiheitsgraden beruhen. Dazu zählen verschiedene Versionen der relativistischen Molekularfeldtheorie („Mean Field Theory”), chirale Modelle mit Polyakov-Schleifen und Dilaton-Feld und Resonanzgasmodelle.
  • Dynamische Modellierung der komplexen Vielteilchendynamik in Schwerionenkollisionen mit Methoden der klassischen und der Quantenmechanik, statistischen Mechanik, Transporttheorie, Quantenfeldtheorie und Dualität zur Gravitation. Unter den hierfür verwendeten Modellen sind relativistische Hydrodynamik, Transportzugänge (z.B. Parton-Hadron String Dynamics PHSD) und Quantenmolekulardynamik (z.B. Ultrarelativistic Quantum Molecular Dynamics UrQMD)
  • Die Struktur von exotischen Atomkernen weit weg vom Tal der Stabilität, einschließlich Hyperkernen und Antikernen mittels den Lösungen der entsprechenden Vielkörperprobleme. Bindungsenergien und Anregungsspektra dieser Kerne helfen, die Synthese von schweren Atomen in Sternexplosionen zu verstehen.
  • Untersuchungen der Interaktion von Ionen mit Materie in umfassenden Simulationen (GEANT4), besonders für die Schwerionenkrebstherapie relevant.

Interdisziplinäre Kollaboration, besonders mit Computerwissenschaftlern, ist essentiell für Forschung in theoretischer Physik auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik. Theoretiker am FIAS arbeiten eng mit ihren experimentellen Kollegen an den großen Beschleunigerzentren GSI (Darmstadt), CERN-LHC (Genf) und BNL-RHIC (Brookhaven) zusammen und sind im Rahmen des HIC for FAIR-Programmes eng mit den Vorbereitungen für die zukünftigen FAIR-Experimente verbunden.


Copyright © 2004 - 2017 Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies

Alle Rechte vorbehalten.