FIAS  >  Fellows


The scientific staff at FIAS is organized in research groups which represent a particular research area. Typically each research group is headed by a Junior Fellow, Research Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow, or Adjunct Fellow and includes junior scientists, postdoctoral researchers, specialists and Ph.D. students. These groups conduct the local research and foster the interdisciplinary character of the programs. Ph.D. students are often co-supervised by different Fellows in order to represent the different interdisciplinary aspects of the research.

The group leaders are responsible for all hirings at the level of students, Ph.D. students and postdocs and for the financial budget of their groups. The Fellows may also initiate research programs, invite guest scientists, organize summer schools, conferences, etc.

The research groups at FIAS enjoy great freedom in choosing their research topics which, however, should be compatible with the strategy set out by the Board of Directors.

Senior Fellows

  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Bleicher
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Braun-Munzinger
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Martin-Leo Hansmann
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Hummer
  • Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Langanke
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Lindenstruth
  • Prof. Dr. Igor Mishustin
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph von der Malsburg
  • Prof. Dr. Luciano Rezzolla
  • Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolf Singer
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Horst Stöcker
  • Prof. Dr. Jochen Triesch


  • Prof. Dr. Nils Bertschinger
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Kaschube
  • Prof. Dr. Ivan Kisel
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Jürgen Lüdde
  • Prof. Dr. Franziska Matthäus
  • Prof. Dr. Hannah Petersen
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Schramm
  • Dr. Armen Sedrakian
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Struckmeier
  • Prof. Dr. Klemens Zink

Senior Fellow Laureatus

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Gerard 't Hooft

Research Fellows

  • Dr. Alberto Bernacchia
  • PD Dr. Thomas Burwick
  • Dr. Hermann Cuntz
  • Dr. Hendrik van Hees
  • Dr. Sabine Hossenfelder
  • Dr. Pasi Huovinen
  • Dr. Raoul-Martin Memmesheimer
  • PD Dr. Piero Nicolini
  • Dr. Danko Nikolic

Adjunct Fellows

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Aichelin, Subatech, CNRS, Université de Nantes
  • Prof. Dr. Robert Berger, Fachbereich Chemie, Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Boller, Max-Planck-Institute für extraterrestrische Physik, Garching

  • Prof. Dr. Henner Büsching,  Institut für Kernphysik, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Laslo Csernai, Department of Physics and Technology, University of Bergen, Norwegen

  • Prof. Dr. Marco Durante, Biophysik, GSI
  • Prof. Dr. Marc Thilo Figge, Applied Systems Biology, Leibniz Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie - Hans Knöll Institut
  • Prof. Dr. Eduardo Guendelman, Department of Physics, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Güntert, Biophysikalische Chemie, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Haberer, HIT, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Hess, Instituto de Ciencias Nucleares, Universidad Nacional de México, Mexico

  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Maas, Institut für Grundlagen der Informationsverarbeitung, TU Graz
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Metzinger, Philosophisches Seminar, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Meyer-Hermann, Systems Immunology, HZI, Braunschweig
  • Prof. Dr. Visvanathan Ramesh, Informatik und Mathematik, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Dr. Constantin Rothkopf, Institute of Psychology, TU Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Reinhard Stock, Institut für Kernphysik, Goethe-Universität
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Strickland, KSU Physics, Kent State University
  • Dr. Laura Tolos, Institute of Space Sciences, IEEC




Copyright © 2004 - 2017 Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies

All Rights Reserved.